Book Review and Giveaway: Vegan Chocolate

Dianne February 3, 2014 144
Book Review and Giveaway: Vegan Chocolate

Vegan ChocolateTwo of my favorite words in the English language are “vegan” and “chocolate”, Fran Costigan’s cookbook Vegan Chocolate: Unapologetically Luscious and Decadent Dairy-Free Desserts was on my wish list long before I even set eyes on it. Once I got my hands on it I was pleased to find that it’s even more lusciously gorgeous and drool-worthy than I imagined. Vegan Chocolate is a beautiful hardcover book packed with the most stunning, mouthwatering photos of cakes, pies, cookies and other melt-in-your-mouth chocolatey treats that I’ve ever seen. Beware – you may be tempted to eat the book’s pages.

 

I did a little work for Fran last summer while the book was in production, so not only was I able to get a sneak peek at this masterpiece, I also got to sample some of her decadent homemade chocolate treats: brownie bites, truffles, ice cream shell, chocolate hazelnut spread, cake, ganache and more. Each one was better than the last and this chocoholic always went home happy. 

 

Hot Chocolate Mexican-Style LRAs a vegan I’m often asked if it’s possible to make dessert without eggs and dairy products, and I’ve also had people tell me that they could never be vegan because they could never give up chocolate. (Chocolate is vegan by nature, but the way. It’s not vegan when candy bar manufacturers add milk and butterfat to it.) In Vegan Chocolate Fran proves that not only is it possible to make luscious vegan desserts, but they can be rich and sinfully chocolatey as well. This book is packed with recipes for chocolate cakes, pies, cookies, brownies, truffles, puddings, ice creams, drinks and more. I can guarantee that you can win over even the most die-hard carnivore with any one of them. 

 

Cashew-Cream-Truffle-Squares-LRFran begins the book with a list of ingredients that are helpful to have on hand for vegan baking, as well as a list of kitchen equipment essentials. She also includes a chocolate primer with information on storing chocolate, what the different percentages mean and the different types of chocolate. Each chapter begins with Fran’s tips for successful treats, troubleshooting recommendations, and helpful information such as how much frosting is needed for a sheet cake and how to make cake crumbs for decorating. Kate Lewis’s photos of Fran’s creations are works of art, and this book should be on display on your coffee table, rather than tucked away in your bookcase.

 

Brownie-Pudding-Cakelettes-LRVegan Chocolate is a must have for any chocoholic, avid baker, and vegan foodie and it makes a great Valentine’s Day gift. Be sure to check out our interview with Fran too! 

 

You’re in luck because we have a copy of Vegan Chocolate for one lucky Chic Vegan reader. Follow the instructions below to enter. U.S. residents only, please. Contest ends at midnight EST on Sunday, February 9th. Good luck!

 

 

144 Comments »

  1. shayne elizabeth johnson February 9, 2014 at 10:46 am -

    i LIVE for chocolate-hazlenut spread, or chocolate-ANY kind of nut spread!!!

  2. Corrie February 9, 2014 at 11:09 am -

    I actually made her brownies as they were in my VegTimes. I still need to make the torte with ganache. Everyone loved the brownies and they were so easy. My fav choc dessert?! Do I have to pick one?! Brownies, cake, torte…gosh all of it. This book is in my amazon cart as we speak! :)

  3. susan February 9, 2014 at 11:31 am -

    Chocolate layer cake.

  4. Tabitha February 9, 2014 at 11:49 am -

    Chocolate truffles (vegan ones at least) are far from easy to find but soooo hard for me to resist!

  5. Michelle February 9, 2014 at 11:50 am -

    Vegan cheesecake brownies!

  6. Deborah February 9, 2014 at 11:53 am -

    I love chocolate lava cake or fruit dipped in chocolate fondue.

  7. Zyxomma February 9, 2014 at 12:35 pm -

    My homemade live pudding, using Florida avocado, raw cacao, Ceylon cinnamon, NM chile, vanilla bean, and organic birch xylitol for sweetening without a blood sugar spike.

  8. Jessi February 9, 2014 at 12:38 pm -

    coconut milk FUDGE!

  9. Ashley Chew February 9, 2014 at 12:45 pm -

    Chocolate chip cookies

  10. S. Owens February 9, 2014 at 1:12 pm -

    I love hot cocoa during these cold, dreary months!

  11. Rosanna February 9, 2014 at 1:20 pm -

    My favorite of all are chocolate brownies and chocolate/cherry cookies!

  12. Jasmine B February 9, 2014 at 1:41 pm -

    Raw vegan cacao date balls, yum!

  13. bitt February 9, 2014 at 1:58 pm -

    vegan chocolate cheesecake

  14. Bekah February 9, 2014 at 2:09 pm -

    I just love chocolate! Plain! Darker the better!

  15. Sheila Chaffins February 9, 2014 at 2:20 pm -

    Chocolate cake!

  16. Rebecca February 9, 2014 at 2:48 pm -

    I looove a simple dark chocolate bar.

  17. di February 9, 2014 at 2:51 pm -

    brownies !!!!

  18. Shamailee February 9, 2014 at 2:58 pm -

    I love 7 layer chocolate cake

  19. Ann February 9, 2014 at 3:21 pm -

    I do love a good chewy gooey brownie. I like it even better made into a sundae with some frozen almond milk ice cream.

  20. Niurka February 9, 2014 at 3:26 pm -

    Chocolate candy bar

  21. sonja February 9, 2014 at 4:36 pm -

    german chocolate cake

  22. Annie February 9, 2014 at 6:03 pm -

    I’m a choco nut. I love solids so that it melts on my tongue, I love hot choco to warm me at work, and I’m an ice cream fiend, which I am so happy to have found a home gelato maker so that I can make my own vegan ice cream!!!

  23. Laura Hartwell February 9, 2014 at 6:29 pm -

    Chocolate chip cookie dough!

  24. Karee February 9, 2014 at 8:03 pm -

    My fave Chocolately treat is anything salted-chocolate with almonds!!!! OMG!!!

  25. Jennie S. February 9, 2014 at 8:15 pm -

    Love love love brownies!!!!

  26. Joanne February 9, 2014 at 8:30 pm -

    Chocolate chip cookies

  27. Jean E February 9, 2014 at 9:16 pm -

    Fudge, the darker the better!

  28. Joanne February 9, 2014 at 9:27 pm -

    Warm chocolate chip cookies!

  29. Trish February 9, 2014 at 9:35 pm -

    I love chocolate silk pie, vegan of course!

  30. fernanda February 9, 2014 at 9:35 pm -

    chocolate brownie :)

  31. Jenny Stalter February 9, 2014 at 9:39 pm -

    Coconut cacao fudge with almonds!!

  32. Sabrina Parmar February 9, 2014 at 9:47 pm -

    Double chocolate cake :)

  33. Tabby Budde February 9, 2014 at 9:55 pm -

    chocolate cake with caramel sauce

  34. Kristi February 9, 2014 at 10:17 pm -

    I recently found an AMAZING chocolate recipe online where you mix coconut oil, raspberry agave nectar, almond butter & cocoa powder. I somehow messed it up a little and it was still delicious! I LOVE it!

  35. Ilene February 9, 2014 at 10:21 pm -

    Chocolate cake

  36. Alison Golden February 9, 2014 at 10:23 pm -

    Dark chocolate covered nuts!

  37. Ashley Bauman February 9, 2014 at 10:29 pm -

    I love chocolate brownies. And chocolate cake. And chocolate chip cookies. And anything chocolate!

  38. amanda February 9, 2014 at 10:40 pm -

    you could never definitely pick just one when it comes to chocolate (donuts, chocolate cake, buckeyes!..), but i’m going to go with chocolate iced brownies sprinkled with chocolate chips and try to cover as many bases as i can. This book is also currently saved in my amazon cart!

  39. Kelly February 9, 2014 at 10:46 pm -

    Chocolate chip cookies

  40. Tracey February 9, 2014 at 11:27 pm -

    I love Mississippi Mud Cake, trying to find a vegan version that rocks !! And love anything dark chocolate….

  41. Svetlana February 9, 2014 at 11:41 pm -

    raw chocolate tart with coconut whipped cream & lime zest… or home-made chocolate truffles with a hint of lavender essential oil

  42. Rhonda Davis February 10, 2014 at 12:26 am -

    Chili’s molten lava cake!!

  43. Amy February 10, 2014 at 1:04 am -

    I am ALL about the brownies. The chocolatey-er, the better! And they better include chocolate chips.

  44. Kristina Nguyen February 10, 2014 at 3:33 am -

    Peppermint bark:)

Leave A Response »