Product Review: E.L.F. Cosmetics

Mandi July 14, 2008 10

E.L.F. Cosmetics.. cheap, cruelty free beauty! No, they were not bought out by Nordstrom and in turn selling everything for the low, low price of $1 each. Everything is ALWAYS a buck at eyeslipsface.com , and absolutely fabulous to boot.

I had the pleasure of falling for this internet urban legend and discovered
a wonderful line of cheap, cruelty free, quality cosmetics.

Review Time!

Natural Radiance Blusher – I’m pretty much thrilled that this
ended up being THE PERFECT shade for my complexion (Glow). It requires a little
bit more application than most blushes, but otherwise it is perfect.

Brightening Eye Liner – Nice and simple pencil liner. Goes on smooth, and the color is very bright.

Plumping Lip Glaze – It plumps.. sorta. I noticed a slight difference but nobody else really did. It is very glossy and the color is nice and subtle. Warning: some people experience intense tingling and even burning with this product.. I did not. If you have that type of reaction to similar products, I would avoid using this.

Nail Polish – Love, love, love, love, love! First off…. this
nail polish is Toluene, Formaldehyde, and Dibutyl Phthalate (DBP) free. It
contains no animal ingredients or testing (obviously). It does not have a strong
chemical smell like most nail polishes. The polish on my toes have not chipped
or scratched at all, and I applied the polish over 2 weeks ago. (These are
summer feet too!) I have been waiting my whole life for nail polish like this!

Brightening Eye Color – Eh.. The color is kinda weak and it’s
not very long lasting. The eye color is good for a neutral day of makeup, but
most definitely not if you are trying to make an impact.

Although my overall experience with Eyes Lips and Face was pretty excellent,
there were some drawbacks. My order did not arrive until over a month after
I ordered it. However, I had received emails of apology informing me that my
order would be delayed. I assume that they are understaffed for the amount
of orders being placed. (Time to do some hiring, peoples!!!) If you are planning
on placing an order I would suggest not ordering anything you need ASAP and
be prepared to wait a bit for your order to arrive.

Also, the package size for everything is very small, but seriously, everything
is a dollar: buy 10!!

To order some cheap, makeupy goodness go here: http://www.eyeslipsface.com

**Product Review was updated due to new info on product ingredients. Please take this list into consideration when buying. I apologize if this has caused any cosmetic hardship.

Animal Derived ingredients in following products:
Earth and water mascara- beeswax
Shielding gloss – beeswax
Tone Correcting Concealer – beeswax
Soothing Gloss – beeswax
Shielding hydro tint – beeswax
Hypershine Lip Gloss – beeswax
Lip Elements- beeswax
Eye Elements-beeswax
Brushes all but below excluded -animal hair

Vegan Friendly
Foundation brush
Eyelash & brow Wand
Brow Comb + Brush
Smudge Eye Brush
Wet Gloss Lash & Brow Clear Mascara
Feather Proof Moisturizing Long Wear Lip Liner
Color Protection Nail Lacquer
Brightening Eye Liner
Face Elements
Brightening Eye Color
New Moisture Care Lip Color
Therapeutic Conditioning Balm
Plumping Lip Glaze
Super Glossy Lip Shine SPF 15
Natural Radiance Blusher
Clarifying Pressed Powder
Shimmering Facial Whip
Brightening Eye Liner
Nail Block
Nail File Set
Toe Separators
Nail Polish Remover Pads
Mirror
Blending Wedges
Powder Puffs
Eye Shadow applicators
Eye Lash Curler
Makeup cases
Eye Makeup Remover Pads
Nail Polish Remover Pads
Healthy Glow Bronzing Powder
Shine Eraser
Slant Tweezer

10 Comments »

  1. soymonster August 16, 2008 at 4:29 am -

    I sort of didn’t believe you about this place until I actually placed an order– brilliant. I too love the nail polish. Here’s one I found, even though it’s more than $1 a pop: http://www.nailaidworks.com. Vegan, cruelty and tox-free nail treatments (think strengtheners, broken nail solutions, etc). I love ‘em.

  2. ericasveganlife August 22, 2008 at 10:12 am -

    I first heard of this company probably over a year ago, and I emailed them inquiring if their products were vegan. they didn’t give me any conclusive answers, and told me to read the ingredients. I went to my nearest Target location to check out the e.l.f. packaging, and I couldn’t decipher the ingredients. their website says they contain no animal ingredients except for lanolin and beeswax. do you have a list of which products are vegan, or how did you find out? I would really like to try some of their products! thank you :)

  3. admin August 22, 2008 at 2:46 pm -

    @ericasveganlife Thanks so much for your question! I was under the impression all of their cosmetics were vegan since they are PETA supported and “cruelty-free”, but upon further investigation it appears that I am wrong. Here is the information you seek:
    Animal Derived ingredients in following products:
    Earth and water mascara- beeswax
    Shielding gloss – beeswax
    Tone Correcting Concealer – beeswax
    Soothing Gloss – beeswax
    Shielding hydro tint – beeswax
    Hypershine Lip Gloss – beeswax
    Lip Elements- beeswax
    Eye Elements-beeswax
    Brushes all but below excluded -animal hair

    Vegan Friendly
    Foundation brush
    Eyelash & brow Wand
    Brow Comb + Brush
    Smudge Eye Brush
    Wet Gloss Lash & Brow Clear Mascara
    Feather Proof Moisturizing Long Wear Lip Liner
    Color Protection Nail Lacquer
    Brightening Eye Liner
    Face Elements
    Brightening Eye Color
    New Moisture Care Lip Color
    Therapeutic Conditioning Balm
    Plumping Lip Glaze
    Super Glossy Lip Shine SPF 15
    Natural Radiance Blusher
    Clarifying Pressed Powder
    Shimmering Facial Whip
    Brightening Eye Liner
    Nail Block
    Nail File Set
    Toe Separators
    Nail Polish Remover Pads
    Mirror
    Blending Wedges
    Powder Puffs
    Eye Shadow applicators
    Eye Lash Curler
    Makeup cases
    Eye Makeup Remover Pads
    Nail Polish Remover Pads
    Healthy Glow Bronzing Powder
    Shine Eraser
    Slant Tweezer

    I found that info on a few veg forums concerning their products. I know I reviewed 2 items containing beeswax and I am just as surprised as you (ah the perils of being vegan).. I will take them down and place this list up in its place. Thanks again!

  4. Stephanie September 15, 2009 at 6:09 pm -

    I was looking for reviews on Elf, and found your site. Just an FYI, their FAQs now say that they use synthetic beeswax and lanolin. Thought you might like to know! :)

  5. Mandi September 15, 2009 at 6:17 pm -

    Thanks Stephanie! I was not aware of that. I’ll do some research and update this post. Thanks again!

  6. greentangerine March 25, 2010 at 12:24 pm -

    ELF is replacing all animal ingredients with vegan friendly alternatives. Only products that remain non vegan are their old brushes and brushes from new Mineral Line. (New brushes from Studio line are synthetic) However it is still possible to get a product from the “old batch” since the switch is only recent. (this happened to me a few months ago, so I returned it) But all new stuff since the switch is vegan friendly (makeup from Mineral line and everything from Studio Line is vegan friendly!) This is their statement only- but you can also find ingredients of new vegan formulations on their site. :)

  7. Jaide March 30, 2010 at 7:20 pm -

    Just thought you all might like to know that they’re selling these products at Dollar General now. I had never heard of it until I stopped by a DG hoping to find an emergency pair of false lashes since I was out and had to give a speech in front of people (I have trichotillomania). They work even better than the Ardell brand on my lash-less eyes too since the band is so much thicker. I thought 1.00 cosmetics was too good to be true so I looked for reviews online expecting that they were made from the souls of third world children or something, but imagine my surprise when I found that these products are cruelty free!

  8. melisser July 5, 2010 at 7:44 am -

    Hey Mandi, can I add this list on http://www.crueltyfreeface.com if I link back to you?

  9. Mandi
    Mandi (Chic Vegan) July 5, 2010 at 3:04 pm -

    Absolutely!

  10. sammie September 23, 2011 at 5:37 pm -

    I thought the burning/tingling was natural with the plumping lip gloss?  Isn’t that what the “plumping” part, is?  Though, if it were a painful burning/tingling sensation, def avoid using it & with the brightening eye color, do you think it would last longer if it was applied over an eye shadow primer?  FYI – I don’t know the answer to these questions, I’m just very inquisitive : ) I’ve actually heard quite a few good things about E.L.F. and can’t wait to try some of their products out when I have the funds to do so…

    Thanks or the review!!!

Leave A Response »